What is Felony Hit and Run?
California Penal Code Section 20001 defines Hit and Run as failing to stop at the time of an accident, especially if someone was injured or killed.
Determining Factors of Hit and Run:
Before any case can be brought to court, there are factors of the crime that will need to be verified. Hit and Run CVC 20001 is no different, and these factors include:
- The accused is did not stop, even after someone was injured or killed
- The accused knew that an accident transpired, but failed to stop anyway
- The accused failed to exercise the mandatory practices outlined below
Outlined in the code are:
- If an accident occurs, the driver should always come to a stop
- The able driver should assist where necessary and reasonable, and immediately contact authorities for help or notification of the injury, accident or death
- All able drivers will need to furnish his or her ID to the police
Penalties for California Penal Code 20001
The fines and punishments for Hit and Run, if convicted, include:
If the accident involved general injuries, the penalties are:
- Felony: Jail: up to 1 yr or Prison: 16mths, 2 or 3 yrs | Fines: $1,000-$10,000 | Victim Restitution
In addition, the DMV will deduce two points from the offender’s driver’s license.
If the accident involved serious injuries or death, the penalties are:
- Felony: Jail: up to 1 yr or Prison: 2, 3 or 4 yrs | Fines: $1,000-$10,000 | Victim Restitution
Choosing a lawyer can help to reduce felony charges to a misdemeanor. A hit and run involving fatalities is a serious offense, but it there’s hope for defense. If you’ve been accused of felony hit and run under California Vehicle Code 20001, Call MacGregor and Collins at 949-250-6097 today.
Are you new to the State of California and need to learn more about criminal offenses and their penalties? We have built a convenient resource center at the California Section Penal Codes Library.