There are many repercussions to DUI in Newport Beach – as with anywhere else in the state of California. Before getting behind the wheels of a vehicle while intoxicated, consider having to deal with the following consequences – even if this is your first offense:
First time DUI offenders will be penalized by the possibility of going to jail for up to six months. The fines can include $390 or up to $1000 as the maximum fee. In addition, offenders will have to do without their driver’s license for some time, as it will be suspended based on the timeframe ordered in court.
The DMV will also impose its own penalties regarding whether to suspend a license or keep it in effect. As an additional note, if you’ve been recently arrested of DUI, you get a ten day window to appeal before the DMV for a license extension of 30 days until the case is sorted in court. A lawyer can also help with this process to bring you a more favorable outcome.
Other fines include attending a DUI school in the county, furnishing proof that you did so, and also being served an informal probation for a few years.
One serving of alcohol can leave you facing all these circumstances. However, there’s hope if you’ve slipped up and need help with defense. Some include faulty chemical tests, not actually being intoxicated with a blood alcohol count of 0.08% – as an adult. For a minor under 21, this percentage would be 0.01%. The good news is that a Newport Beach DUI attorney can help bring the best possible outcome for your case, whether you’re guilty or innocent.
If you are facing DUI charges for California Vehicle Code Section 23152, the DUI criminal defense attorneys at MacGregor & Collins can help you. We will bring superior legal experience to aid you in this challenging time. Call us today at (949) 250-6097.