California Vehicle Code 23153 defines DUI Causing Injury as when someone was intoxicated while driving, that carelessness was a factor, and that another person suffered bodily injury as a result.
Determining Factors of California DUI Causing Injury:
Before any case can be brought to court, there are factors of the crime that will need to be verified. California DUI Causing Injury CPC 23153 is no different, and these factors include:
- The accused was intoxicated with blood alcohol levels of 0.08% or higher
- The driver was driving recklessly
- Someone was injured as a result of these actions
Penalties for California Vehicle Code 23153
The fines and punishments for California DUI Causing Injury if convicted include:
- Misdemeanor ( for 1st and 2nd time offenders within 10 years):
Jail: up to 1 yr. |Fine: up to $5,000| DUI School: up to 30 months | License Suspension: up to 3 Years | Informal Probation: up to 5 years | Victim Restitution
- Felony ( for 3rd time offenders within 10 years):
Prison: up to 4 yrs. |Fine: up to $5,000| DUI School: up to 30 months | License Suspension: up to 5 Years | Victim Restitution
It should be noted that felony or misdemeanor charges are determined by the extent of the victim’s injuries, the driver’s criminal history and more.
How to Hire a Law Firm for California DUI Causing Injury:
If you have been accused of California DUI Causing Injury, it’s time to call a legal defense team that can help to get the best outcome for your case. Call MacGregor and Collins at 949-250-6097 today.
Are you new to the State of California and need to learn more about criminal offenses and their penalties? We have built a convenient resource center at the California Section Vehicle Codes Library.