California Penal Code 460
Are you facing charges for Burglary? California penal code 460 helps to distinguish types of offenses in California and how those offenses are punishable. Many California citizens have fallen on hard times and have made poor choices while trying to rehabilitate their financial situation. Prosecutors rarely take these extenuating circumstances into consideration, and you can count on them to pursue maximum penalties against you in a court of law. These offenses carry hefty fines and punishments. Those facing these types of charges are advised to seek experienced legal counsel to help ensure that mistakes are not made.
At MacGregor & Collins, LLP, our Orange County defense lawyers have worked with countless burglary defendants and have obtained favorable case outcomes for many of those that we represent. Call us today and you will receive a free case evaluation to help put you on a path towards success.
PC 460 Defined
California Penal Code 460 distinguishes the two categories of burglary in California. In a general sense, this offense is defined as going on someone else’s property to either steal or commit a crime. Many times, burglaries are committed by people who are suffering from drug addiction who find themselves facing drug crime charges as well.
California Burglary Penalties
First Degree Offense - is entering a residential property of someone else with the intent to commit theft or a felony. First degree burglary is a felony and those found guilty can face:
- 2, 4 or 6 Years in the California State Prison
- Up to $10,000 in fines
Second Degree Offense - is burglary that was carried out at a place other than a residence. Penal Code Penalties include misdemeanor or felony, and those found guilty can face:
- Misdemeanor – Up to I Year in the Orange County Jail and a maximum $6,000 fine
- Felony – 16 months, 2-3 Years in the California State Prison and a maximum $10,000 fine
Other Potential Penalties:
Sentencing enhancement is applied if a weapon or firearm were used during the course of the alleged violation.
PC 460 Legal Defense
If you are facing criminal charges for Penal Code 460 or 459 and were falsely accused, our Orange County criminal lawyers can help you. Even if you do not retain our legal services, we can still evaluate your case and help you to better understand your charges at no cost to you. Call or fill out our contact form today for more information.