Costa Mesa DUI Lawyers

Driving under the Influence or DUI is prosecuted under California Vehicle Code 23152 A or California Vehicle Code B. The distinction between the two is the blood alcohol count or BAC level of the offender, which is discussed in detail below. MacGregor & Collins, LLP has been assisting DUI defendants for decades: firm partner Ronald MacGregor has assisted more than 10,000 DUI defendants throughout his career. Contact us today to receive top notch legal representation for your case.

 

The elements of this offense include that someone drove a vehicle, and that he or she were under the influence of alcohol or drugs. These substances may or may not include controlled substances by the United Controlled Substances Act. In addition, taking certain prescription or over the counter medicines before or while driving qualify as DUI too. Vehicle Code 23152 A is a misdemeanor that is punishable by:

 

  • Up to 1 Year in the County Jail
  • Up to $1000 in fines
  • DUI School
  • Between 3’5 years’ probation
  • A minimum of 6 month’s driver’s license suspension

 

The following could be considered an exampled of a Costa Mesa DUI offense:

 

Lucas was at a party drinking when things get a little out of control. Another guy, Tom, starts hitting on Lucas’ girlfriend, so Lucas begins to tell the Tom that she is taken. Tom is intoxicated and begins to pick a fight with Lucas. One thing leads to another and Tom and Lucas begin fighting. Lucas wins, but his girlfriend was injured during the scuffle, so he gets in his car and begins to drive her to the hospital. On the way, an officer pulls Lucas over and arrests him for driving under the influence, ignoring the emergency situation at hand.

 

For fourth time DUI offenders under this code, the charges are increased to a felony DUI.

 

California Vehicle Code 23152 B is defined as driving under the influence with BAC of 0.08% or more. This offense is handled slightly different than the former arm. The prosecution will have to prove that the offender was driving a vehicle, and had a BAC level of 0.08% or higher at the time. This is a misdemeanor for first, second and third time DUI offenders, and the penalties include:

 

  • Up to 1 Year in the County Jail
  • Up to $1000 in fines
  • Up to 30 months in DUI School
  • Between 3’5 years’ probation
  • Up to three year’s driver’s license suspension
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

 

As a final note, some DUI offenders will be charged for both offenses above. Do you or someone you know need help with a DUI case in Costa Mesa? MacGregor & Collins is ready to provide you with Costa Mesa criminal defense services that you need, including plea bargains, alternative sentencing, disproving former chemical tests, or dismissing your case. Call at (949) 250 6097.

Free Case Review

Free Consultation




captcha