Newport Beach Burglary Lawyers
Newport Beach Burglary cases are prosecuted under California Penal Code 459. We at MacGregor & Collins have over 30 years of experience in first degree and second degree burglary cases. We are an unparalleled criminal defense firm, who work to uncover the real evidence, compose the top legal defenses for burglary, fight to win you case or dismiss charges altogether.
Newport Beach Burglary is the breaking and entering into a property other than your own, and with the intent to steal of commit a crime. The difference between first and second degree burglary depends on where the offense occurred. Here's why:
First Degree Burglary - is entering the property of a residence with the intent to steal something, set the stage for another crime, or commit another felony offense.
The penalties for first-degree burglary in Newport Beach include:
- Up to six years in the California State Prison
- Up to $10,000 in fines
Second Degree Burglary - is entering the property of any other place aside from a residence, and this was done with the calculated plan of stealing or committing another crime.
The penalties for second-degree burglary in Newport Beach include either:
- Misdemeanor 2nd Degree Burglary - Up to I Year in Jail | Up to $6,000 in fines
- Felony 2nd Degree Burglary - up to 3 Years in prison | up to $10,000 in fines
Minimum or maximum sentencing for Newport Beach burglary depend on factors like:
- If a weapon or firearm was used during the course of the burglary
- If someone was injured
- If so, the extent of the victim's bodily injuries
If you are facing Burglary in Newport Beach, the criminal defense attorneys at MacGregor & Collins can help you. We will bring superior legal experience to aid you in this challenging time. Call us today at (949) 250-6097.