Are you facing charges for Battery Against A Peace Officer? Violation of California Penal Code Section 243 B can be a serious felony or misdemeanor offense depending upon the specifics of your case. Whether you are guilty or innocent, speaking with one of our skilled criminal attorneys could help you evaluate your options. Call (888) 250-2865 today for a free case evaluation.
PC 243 B Defined
According to California Penal Code 243 B, anyone who willfully touches a Peace Officer can be charged with a penal code violation.
In order to prosecute for violating CPC 243B Battery Against a Peace Officer, the state must be ready to provide evidence that you:
- committed battery against a peace officer
- did so while the Peace Officer was on duty
- were aware that the victim was a Peace Officer (Police, Patrol Officer, etc.)
- inflicted bodily injury
Bodily Injury examples include a wound or fracture. It could mean a concussion, serious disfigurement, or a loss of body functions. There are several ways in which someone could be accused of committing battery. A case evaluation from a skilled legal professional will help determine what, if any, action you committed is being accused of being an act of battery.
Penalties for CPC 243 B Violations
The penalties or punishment for CPC 243 B, depend on a number of factors, including whether a weapon was used, the defendant’s criminal history, and the severity of the victim’s injury. Depending upon these facts, prosecutors will choose whether or not you will be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony offense. The following are the maximum potential penalties for CPC 243 B violations:
- Up to 1 Year in the County Jail
- A maximum $2,000 fine (more if the officer suffered injuries)
- An informal probation period of up to three years
- Community service
- Additional programs
- Up to four years in California State Prison (serious bodily injury)
- $10,000 fine
- An formal probation period
If you are charged with a felony, you could also face a possible strike on your record.
Don’t wait until it is too late. Hire an experienced OC battery defense attorney at the beginning of your case to help give yourself a fighting chance. Call us today at (888) 250-2865 to find out how we can help you stay out of jail.