California Penal Code 647.6

Are you facing charges for Child Molestation? Violation of Penal Code 647.6 is a very serious offense. If the child was yours, you may be in danger of losing custody as well as spending time in prison. Anyone who is found guilty of sex crimes in California will also be required to become a lifetime inclusion on California’s sex offender’s registry list. Even if you are not guilty of the crime for which you have been accused, your life can be negatively affected in several ways.

 

At MacGregor & Collins, LLP, our Orange County sex crime attorneys have assisted numerous sex crime defendants with more than 40 years of legal experience. Ronald MacGregor, firm partner, has assisted more than 10,000 criminal defense clients and will bring his skill and experience to your aid during this difficult time. There are two sides to every story, and we want to hear yours. Call us today to take advantage of a free consultation and find out what options you have available for your defense.

 

What is Penal Code 647.6?

 

Anyone who knowingly annoys or assaults a child under 18 years old, is guilty of violating California Penal Code 647.6.

 

In order to prosecute for violations of CPC 647.6 child molestation, the state has the burden to prove you are guilty of either:

 

  • Intentionally assaulting a child or
  • Assaulting a child with the intent to gratify or arouse the sexual desires of oneself or the child in question

 

Those who commit sexual acts upon a child under 14 years old will be charged with PC 288, a different offense that carries different penalties.

 

The following could be considered an example of a CPC 647.6 violation:

 

Josh has been struggling with his thoughts about young children. One day, Josh drives down to a local elementary school and begins pleasuring himself in his vehicle in the parking lot. A parent alerts a teacher who calls the police. Josh is soon arrested for violating PC 647.6.

 

What Are the Penalties For PC 647.6 Violations?

 

Child Molestation can be a misdemeanor or a felony offense. The following are the penalties for both:

 

Misdemeanor:

  • Up to 1 Year in the Orange County Jail
  • A maximum $5,000 fine
  • Or a combination of both

 

Felony:

  • Up to 1 year in state prison

 

Other Potential Punishments:

 

Defendants may be required to register as a sex offender, be placed on restricted monitoring or banned from coming within a few feet of a victim.

 

Since child molestation is a serious offense, it is imperative to work with a skilled sex crime lawyer to ensure that your case facts are fully evaluated and done so properly. Without an experienced legal professional by your side, you may make costly mistakes that affect your case.

 

Child Molestation Defense

 

If you are facing child molestation charges for California Penal Code Section 647.6, contact our firm to reach a skilled legal professional for a free case evaluation. Let us help you better understand the charges brought against you so you can make more informed decisions moving forward.

Free Consultation

Criminal Defense Guides

Image