What Is DUI for Minors Under 21?
California Health and Safety Code Section 23140 includes incriminatory factors such as driving while intoxicated, and that this was done by an individual under the age of 21.
How Does the Prosecution Prove Intoxication?
This is usually proven through field sobriety tests, otherwise known as FSTs, or chemical tests that uncover the level of intoxication by the driver.
Determining Factors of California Health and Safety Code 23140
Before any case can be brought to court, there are factors of the crime that will need to be verified. DUI for Minors under 21 is no different, and these factors include:
- The accused was less than 21 years of age
- The accused has a blood alcohol count of 0.01% or greater, but less than 0.08%
Penalties and Fines for California Health and Safety Code 23140
The fines and punishments for DUI for Minors under 21 who are tested with a BAC of between 0.05-0.07 percent include infraction charges:
- First Time Minor DUI Offenders receive $100 in fines
- Second Time Minor DUI Offenders receive $200 in fines
- Third Time Minor DUI Offenders receive $300 in fines
The fines and punishments for DUI for Minors under 21 who are tested with a BAC of 0.08% or higher include the same penalties as those of adults:
- Jail: 1 yr. | Fines: up to $1,000
- Probation of 3-5 years
- License Suspension: up to 6 months
- Enrollment in DUI school
It should be noted that felony or misdemeanor charges are determined by specific circumstances of the case, and the court will deliberate on these before reaching a conclusion.
How to Hire a Law Firm for California Health and Safety Code 23140
If you’ve been arrested for DUI as a minor, help get your life back on the right track with a skilled California DUI attorney such as MacGregor and Collins. Call today at 949-250-6097.
Are you new to the State of California and need to learn more about criminal offenses and their penalties? We have built a convenient resource center at the California Section Penal Codes Library.