California Penal Code 273.5
An arrest for any type of domestic violence offense can affect your life for years to come. Those who violate California Penal Code Section 273.5 (pc 273.5) may be convicted of a felony or misdemeanor offense. At MacGregor & Collins, LLP, our Orange County domestic violence lawyers use their 40 years of experience to help our clients receive favorable case outcomes and case dismissals. As soon as we are contacted, we will begin evaluating your case circumstance and provide you with options.
PC 273.5 Defined
According to California Penal Code 273.5, anyone who inflicts bodily injury on a current or former spouse, the father or mother of your child, or a person that you share or have shared your home with can be found guilty of violating PC 273.5. This is different from PC 273, which governs offenses against a child.
In order to be prosecuted for CPC 273.5 in Orange County, state prosecutors will have to convince a Judge and/or Jury that you:
- inflicted bodily injury in some way
- meant to inflict bodily injury
- caused trauma to the other party
- inflicted bodily injury on:
- your present or ex husband or wife
- someone you are cohabiting with
- the other parent of your child
CPC 273.5 Penalty Information
The penalties or punishments for acts of domestic abuse depend on a number of factors, including your criminal history (if any) and the circumstances surrounding your particular case. Domestic violence penal code violations can be filed as a misdemeanor or felony. Those who are proven to be guilty can face:
- One year or less in the County Jail and a maximum $6,000 fine
- 2-4 Years in Prison and formal probation
Other Potential Penalties for California Penal Code Section 273.5:
For corporal injury charges that are filed as a misdemeanor, penalties may be increased if you are a repeat offender. In addition, punishments will include probation times for a minimum of three years. Possible payments to women’s shelters, a restraining order may be filed by the victim counseling, and/or community service may be required for a felony or misdemeanor offense.
Southern California PC 273.5 Defense
If you have been arrested for corporal injury charges relating to Penal Code 273.5, you will need experienced legal counsel to help you evaluate your options. Our attorneys provide all callers with free professional case evaluations and may give you the information you need to avoid a conviction. Call us today at (888) 250-2865.