California Penal Code 273 PC
Are you facing domestic violence charges for violating California Penal Code 273? We can help you understand what your options are and detailed information about the charges brought against you. At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, our domestic violence lawyers have more than 65 years of combined experience and they are ready to serve you in your time of need. Contact us today to receive a free consultation and case review.
Penal Code 273a Defined
Domestic Violence against a child occurs when a person commits an act of battery against a child or allows harm to come to a child through either an intentional act or by negligent failure to act.
For prosecutors to successfully convict you of violating California child endangerment laws, they would need to have sufficient evidence that you:
- caused or allowed a child to be harmed (physically or mentally), either by:intentionally inflicting or causing or permitting physical pain or mental suffering to a child, or
- caused or allowed a child’s injury or endangerment while he or she was in your custody
- acted in a way that was likely to produce great harm or death
- acted negligently at the time of the offense, and
- were not reasonably disciplining the child
Penalties for Violating 273 PC
Defendant’s facing Child Abuse charges in Orange County for Penal Code 273a violations may face the following punishments:
In the case of child abuse misdemeanor, imprisonment in county jail for up to a year.
Those facing felony child abuse charges can be sentenced to:
- Imprisonment for up to six years
- Minimum probation of 48 months
- Participation in and completion of at least one year of child abuser’s treatment counseling program, and payment of fees due to the counseling program.
- Abstinence from use of drugs or alcohol during probation and subjection to random drug tests, if the offense occurred while the accused was under the influence of such substances
If the child was under the age of 8 at the time of the incident and the offense resulted in the child’s death, the accused faces imprisonment in state prison for 25 years to life.
If the child was under the age of 8 and the offense resulted in the child becoming comatose or permanently paralyzed, the accused would face imprisonment in state prison for life with possibility of parole.
Facing charges for child abuse is difficult, but there is hope. We can help you through this difficult time. Call MacGregor and Collins for more penal code information on California Penal Code 273a today. Call 844-285-9559 to obtain a free case evaluation from a skilled legal professional.