California Penal Code 451
Are you facing charges for Arson in Orange County? Violations of Penal Code 451 are felony offenses that can result in severe penalties. Over the past decade, fires have resulted in several deaths and the destruction of millions of dollars in damages. You can expect prosecutors to take your violation very seriously, and prosecute you to the fullest extent of the law.
At MacGregor & Collins, LLP, our defense attorneys have decades of experience assisting alleged criminal offenders, a number of whom faced charges for violations of CPC 451. Call (888) 250-2865 today and you can take advantage of a free in-depth case evaluation with an attorney who has experience assisting defendants in your position.
PC 451 Defined
A person violates California Penal Code 451 if they set fire to a building, structure, or property willfully and maliciously. If you did not intend to start a fire, you may be charged with PC 452 instead.
The following is an example of someone who is guilty of willful and malicious arson:
Bob comes homes from a long day at work and finds his wife cheating on him with another man. Bob leaves without incident, but then goes to the home, pours gasoline all over his property, lights a match and starts a fire. The outside of the other man’s home suffers severe fire damage.
Bob intentionally went to the other man’s home to start a fire and did so, willfully and maliciously damaging his property.
Penalties for CPC 451 Violations
Penal Code 451 PC is a felony offense, which can result in up to nine years in a California State Prison. In addition, you may be ordered to pay up to $10,000, with the potential for an additional $50,000 in fines.
If prosecutors are able to prove that you set a fire for financial gain, you may be ordered to pay twice the amount of whatever financial gain was anticipated.
If charged with a felony, you may be subjected to a psychiatric evaluation. Also, a felony charge can trigger California’s three strikes law for those with a previous criminal record.
California Arson Defense
If you are facing charges for an alleged California Penal Code Section 451 violation, our Orange county arson attorneys can help. By taking advantage of our free consultation and case review, you may be able to obtain information that helps you to avoid making common mistakes committed by other arson offenders in your position.
Call (844) 285-9559 now to receive an in-depth arson case review with no obligation to retain our services.