California Penal Code 666
Have you been charged with committing Petty Theft with a Prior? Violation of Penal Code 666 can be a serious felony or misdemeanor offense, depending upon the circumstances surrounding your current and prior theft conviction. A previous criminal history has the potential to increase penalties for new offenses. If convicted, you could face years behind bars and financial penalties. Call one of our burglary lawyers in Orange County today to obtain a free theft case evaluation and find out what penalties you may be facing.
What is California Penal Code 666?
California penal code 666 is a penal code which governs those who commit repeated petty theft offenses. Petty Theft with a Prior is theft for goods valued at less than $950, and in this case, the offense was committed before on another occasion.
Simply put, CPC 666 means that the guilty party was previously sentenced for petty theft charges and has broken the same law yet again.
In order to prosecute for violating CPC 666, the state’s prosecutors will have the burden to prove that you:
- took possession of property owned by someone else
- took the property without the owner’s consent
- have been found guilty of one or more previous thefts
The following could be considered a violation of PC 666:
Tim has just gotten out of jail for residential burglary and has been having trouble getting back on his feet. Family and friends will no longer support him, and he doesn’t have any money to satisfy his basic needs. He goes into a store and begins to steal multiple items such as a toothbrush, toothpaste, clothes, and soap, but on his way out, he is escorted to the back and held until the police arrived. The officers cited Tim for a petty theft offense, but by the time word reached the prosecution, Tim was also charged with violating PC 666. Since Tim had a previous violation for residential burglary and has now been arrested for petty theft, prosecutors were able to accuse him of this additional offense.
What are the Penalties For PC 666 Violations?
The penalties or punishment for this penal code offense depends on whether or not it is being filed as a misdemeanor or felony violation. The following are penalties for both:
- Felony – 16 months, two or three years in the California State Prison
- Misdemeanor – Up to 1 Year in the Orange County Jail
666 CPC Legal Defense
If you are facing charges for California Penal Code Section 666 Petty Theft with a Prior, we can help.The Law Offices of Randy Collins is ready to provide you with top notch criminal defense legal services to aid you during your time of need. Call or fill out our contact form today to speak with an experienced attorney for a free consultation.