California Vehicle Code Section 12500 There's No Alternative 

California Vehicle Code 12500

Do you need more information about California Vehicle Code Section 12500? Violation of Vehicle Code 12500 is a minor traffic offense. At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, we regularly assist those facing serious criminal offenses, but can provide you with a free consultation to help you determine the severity of the charges that have been brought against you. Call us today to take advantage.

California Vehicle Code 12500 outlines the law for only driving if licensed. It explains how:

  • Drivers are only permitted to drive on a highway if they own a legitimate DL, unless exemptions are provided
  • The same law applies for motorcycle operators, since they need to own a license class dedicated for operating a motorcycle
  • Drivers may not drive on an off street parking unless they have the license to do so
  • Drivers can only drive the class of vehicles they are licensed to drive
  • Drivers of motorized scooters should ensure that it carries an engine which adheres to OC emission standards

The following is an example of a VC 12500 violation:

Angela is at home with her 2-year-old daughter Charlotte when Charlotte slips and hits her head. The slip has caused a huge gash on Charlotte’s forehead, and it is obvious that she needs to be taken to the emergency room. Angela does not have a license, but her roommate has a car. Charlotte grabs the keys, hops in the car, and begins to drive her and Angela to the nearest hospital. On the way, an officer pulls her over and cites her for violating California vehicle code 12500.

Penalties:

  • Failure to drive unlicensed is considered to be a violation of VC 12500. It can be filed as an infraction, if ticket fees are not paid when due.
  • This code was last updated: January 1, 2008.

Potential Penalties and Fines

The California Department of motor vehicles has the right to cancel or suspend the driver’s license of someone who is in violation of Orange County vehicle codes. There are several different vehicle codes, and each code has different fines that are associated to them. The California points system allows the department to track certain driving offenses, and those who accumulate a number of points within specified time frames run the risk of having their driver’s license suspended or revoked. Vehicle codes are created for the safety of drivers and the public.

If you are facing fines for violating VC 12500 and were falsely accused, our Orange County traffic attorneys may be able to help. Call (844) 285-9559 today and you will reach a skilled attorney with a history of success.

Expect the Best

Why We're the Right Choice
  • Over 65 years of Collective Experience
  • Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
  • Former Deputy District Attorney
  • Impressive Track Record of Results
  • Highly Respected by Peers and Clients
  • Free Initial Consultation

Contact Us

Get  a Free Consultation

We defend people in Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside County, San Diego County, and all of Southern California.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.