California Vehicle Code 20001
Are you facing California Felony Hit and Run charges? Those who are convicted of California Vehicle Code 20001 can face time in prison as well as thousands of dollars in fines. At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, our Orange County hit and run attorneys can provide you with information that could prove to be invaluable. When your freedom is on the line, you will want to take advantage of any opportunity to give yourself the upper hand. Our attorneys provide free consultations for anyone arrested for hit and run violations and can help you better understand your charges as well as your available options.
What is California Vehicle Code 20001?
CVC 20001 governs hit and run violations in which a defendant is guilty of causing injury or death as a result of their driving and then leaving the scene. California drivers are required to follow certain procedures when they become involved in a motor vehicle accident. If they fail to do so, they may suffer a variety of different penalties.
California Hit and Run becomes a felony when someone abandons the scene of an accident, or fails to provide identifying information, if:
- Someone was injured or killed
It is distinguished from misdemeanor hit and run in California Vehicle Code 20002a in which case:
- No one is injured, but property has been damaged.
California vehicle code 20001 outlines the steps required of drivers in the event of an accident that results in death or great bodily injury. Those involved in car accidents involving death and/or great bodily injury are required to:
- stop their vehicle
- provide reasonable help to the injured party, which may include providing transportation to a medical facility
- should supply identifying information to law enforcement, and/or injured parties
- must contact the local police department immediately
In order to convict you for violating California Vehicle Code 20001, state prosecutors will need to have sufficient evidence that you were responsible for the crime. To do so, the following must be established:
- you were involved in an accident that resulted in injury or death
- you were aware that this accident occurred
- you did not stop your vehicle, provide reasonable help to the injured, supply identifying information to law enforcement, or did not contact the police immediately after the collision.
What are the Penalties for VC 20001 Violations?
California Vehicle Code 20001 highlights California felony hit and run offenses, which carry hefty penalties. The following are maximum penalties for those found guilty of VC 20001:
- Up to one year in jail, or 2, 3, or 4 years in prison
- Between $1,000 and $10,000 in fines
- Victim Restitution
- Up to 2 points DMV reduction on driver’s license
If you are facing Felony Hit and Run charges for California Vehicle Code Section 20001, speaking with an experienced attorney may be in your best interest. There are circumstances where those accused of a California Penal Code Violations have valid reasons for their actions. We can help you expose the flaws in the prosecution’s case and help you secure your freedom. Call (844) 285-9559 or fill out our contact form to reach a legal professional with skill and experience defending Southern California residents.