California Penal Code Section 136.1 There's No Alternative 

California Penal Code 136.1

Charges arising from dissuading a witness or victim can have several negative repercussions on a person’s opportunities throughout their lifetime. If convicted of violating Penal Code 136.1, you could end up with a mark on your record. Potential employers use criminal records to help pinpoint the best possible candidates for high-level job openings. You can expect to miss out on highly competitive positions if you have a felony, a problem that rehabilitated convicts constantly struggle with.

At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, our criminal attorneys have represented alleged criminals facing hundreds of different charges for a wide variety of different reasons. Their experience with Orange County courts, including judges, bailiffs, and the prosecution, can help to increase your likelihood of a successful case outcome. Call us today to take advantage of a free case evaluation

CPC 136.1 Defined

According to this law, anyone who willfully scares or dissuades someone from reporting a crime can be found guilty.

In order to prosecute for this offense, the state has the burden to prove you are guilty of:

  • Intentionally averting or making an attempt to stop someone from either:

i. Filing a report

ii. Going to court

iii. Helping to prosecute or testify against an offender

136.1 CPC Penalties

The penalties or punishments depend on a number of factors including your history and the circumstances surrounding the case.

Those found guilty can face:

  • Misdemeanor – Up to I Year in the Orange County Jail and a maximum $6,000 fine
  • Felony – 16 months-4 Years in the California State Prison and a maximum $10,000 fine

Potential Penalties:

If the offense was committed using force, threat, conspiracy, as part of a hire, or the offender had a previous record of doing so, it’s filed as a felony offense. Also, offenders will be subject to the Three Strikes Law of California. Misdemeanor offenses for this crime also result in a 10 year ban from rights to firearms.

This particular law can become quite confusing when applied to real life situations. That’s because there are other laws associated with Dissuading A Witness or Victim, like influencing a testimony under penal code 137.6, or penal code 186.22, criminal street gang enhancement.

Depending on the circumstances under which Dissuading A Witness or Victim was carried out, you could face greater or lesser fines. That’s why it’s important to have a skilled lawyer on your side. Don’t wait until it’s too late. Contact a skilled California legal professional to get the help you need right away. The consultation is free and the evaluation is by attorneys with decades of legal experience. Call 844-285-9559 to get help now.

Expect the Best

Why We're the Right Choice
  • Over 65 years of Collective Experience
  • Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
  • Former Deputy District Attorney
  • Impressive Track Record of Results
  • Highly Respected by Peers and Clients
  • Free Initial Consultation

Contact Us

Get  a Free Consultation

We defend people in Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside County, San Diego County, and all of Southern California.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.