California Penal Code 25658
Are you facing charges for Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor? Violation of California Business and Professions Code 25658 is a misdemeanor offense. Too often, those faced with this violation make the mistake of handling their case without consulting with a skilled criminal attorney. Don’t wait until it is too late. Contact our Orange County law firm for a free case evaluation and find out what your options are.
What is California Penal Code 25658?
According to California Penal Code 25658, Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor is defined as selling alcohol to someone under 21 years old.
In order to prosecute for CPC 25658 Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor, the state has the burden to prove you were guilty of either:
- Selling alcohol to a minor
- Being a minor and purchasing alcohol
- Holding a professional liquor license and allowing someone to purchase alcohol, despite knowing their age
What Are the Penalties for CPC 25658 Violations?
Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor is usually filed as a misdemeanor offense, but punishments vary according to:
Giving Alcohol to a Minor:
- Misdemeanor – Up $1,000 maximum fine, and community service
- Potential charge for contributing to the delinquency of a minor under CPC 272
Parents Permitting Alcohol Use in a Minor (under 18):
The circumstances must include that the child was either driving under the influence, or caused a road accident, in which case it’s a:
- Misdemeanor – Up to I Year in the Orange County Jail and a potential $1,000 maximum fine
Purchasing Alcohol as a Minor:
The circumstances must include that you’re under the age of 21, you bought and /or consumed the alcoholic beverage, in which case it’s a fine of $250 and community service. Driver’s license suspension is also a possibility.
Selling Alcohol to a Minor:
The circumstances must include that you hold a liquor license, and served someone under the age of 21 an alcoholic beverage, in which case it’s a fine of $250 and community service. A suspension of license is also a possibility.
If you are facing Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor charges for California Penal Code Section 25658, speaking with one of our attorneys may be in your best interest. Following a free case evaluation, you will be able to make more informed decision to help ensure you are taking everything into consideration. Call (844) 285-9559 to speak with one of our attorneys today.