California Penal Code 311
Have you been charged with participating in, owning, or marketing child pornography? Violation of Penal Code 311 can be a felony offense that results in numerous penalties and fines. Those convicted of sex crimes are required to add their names to California’s sex offender registry list, which is accessible to anyone who has an internet connection. State prosecutors take child pornography charges very seriously. Without skilled legal guidance, you may find yourself making costly mistakes that negatively affect your chances of success.
At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, our experienced criminal defense attorneys can help guide you through the legal process, and evaluate the flaws that exist in the prosecution’s case. They offer free professional case evaluations to anyone facing child pornography charges. Call (844) 285-9559 to speak with our legal professionals and find out what options you have available.
California Penal Code 311 Explained
According to PC 311, child pornography prosecutors can secure a conviction by providing evidence that the defendant:
- was aware that they participated in child porn (whether creation, possession or distribution)
- was aware that the victim was a minor
There are several subdivision penal codes of CPC 311, which are:
- Penal Codes 311.1(a) /(b, which is the circulation of child porn
- Penal Code 311.4, which is hiring children to take part in child porn
- Penal Code 311.11, which is owning child porn
- Penal Code 311.10, which is marketing and selling child porn
- Penal Code 311.3, which is creating and making copies of child porn
311 PC Potential Penalties
The penalties reserved for those guilty of possessing, creating, or distributing child pornography depend on a number of factors. The alleged offender’s specific offense, previous criminal history, and the circumstances surrounding the events in question can substantially impact the potential penalties that an offender will face. Child pornography offenses can be filed as a misdemeanor or a felony, and those found guilty can face:
- Up to I Year in the Orange County Jail
- A maximum $2,500 fine
- 16 Months-8 Years in the California State Prison
- A maximum $100,000 fine
If you are facing charges for violating California Penal Code Section 311 Child Pornography, we can help. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Randy Collins are ready to defend your rights, regardless of the charges that you are facing. We understand that a large number of those who are charged with crimes are not guilty. Contact us today to receive a free consultation and find out how you can possibly avoid inclusion on California’s sex offender registry list.