California Penal Code Section 314 There's No Alternative 

California Penal Code 314

Are you facing charges for Indecent Exposure? Violation of Penal Code 314 is a misdemeanor offense. Although indecent exposure could be considered a minor offense, a conviction could result in a lifetime inclusion on California’s sex offender registry list. These days, anyone with an internet connection can locate sex offenders. If you are on the list, you may have trouble obtaining employment or taking advantage of certain assistance programs.

At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, our sex crime defense attorneys have decades of combined experience assisting those facing serious and minor sexual violations throughout Southern California. They offer free professional case evaluations and may be able to help get you back on your feet. Call or fill out our contact form to speak with one of our skilled legal professionals about your indecent exposure case.

What do Prosecutors Need to Convict Me?

To obtain a conviction for violating CPC 314, prosecutors must be prepared to provide sufficient evidence that you:

  • Intentionally revealed yourself (i.e. your whole naked body or genitals)
  • Did so in public or where someone could see you
  • Knew the act would be insulting
  • Did so for sexual arousal for yourself and/or for others

Indecent exposure charges may also be accompanied by PC 261 rape charges depending upon the circumstances.

What Penalties Will I Face?

Indecent exposure is a misdemeanor punishable by:

  • A fine of no more than $1000
  • Imprisonment in the Orange County jail for up to 6 months
  • Mandatory registration as a sex offender

Other Potential Penalties:

There are other instances where indecent exposure is elevated to aggravated indecent exposure. According to governing California penal codes, it would need to take place inside a residence like someone’s home. As a consequence, fines can be increased and if is filed as a felony, the jail time can be increased by one year. If your indecent exposure is filed as a felony, it is punishable by:

  • A fine of no more than $10,000
  • Imprisonment in the California State Prison for either 16 months or 2-3 Years
  • Mandatory registration as a sex offender

Indecent Exposure Legal Defense

If you are facing indecent exposure charges for Penal Code 314 and were falsely accused, the OC criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Randy Collins can help you. We will bring superior legal experience to aid you in this challenging time. Call us today at (844) 285-9559.

Expect the Best

Why We're the Right Choice
  • Over 65 years of Collective Experience
  • Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
  • Former Deputy District Attorney
  • Impressive Track Record of Results
  • Highly Respected by Peers and Clients
  • Free Initial Consultation

Contact Us

Get  a Free Consultation

We defend people in Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside County, San Diego County, and all of Southern California.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.