California Vehicle Code Section 23153 There's No Alternative 

California Vehicle Code 23153

If you are facing charges for violating CVC 23153, you would be best served by contacting a skilled legal professional for a free case evaluation. Those who violate CVC 23153 are charged with driving under the influence and causing an injury, which can result in harsh penalties and an arrest record. Once a conviction is on your record, it can be very difficult to have it removed. By speaking with an experienced DUI attorney at the beginning of your case, you may be able to avoid costly mistakes, even if you do not retain an attorney to represent you. Call (844) 285-9559 or fill out our contact form to receive assistance from attorneys with decades of experience.

California Vehicle Code 23153 Defined

Someone who drives under the influence of alcohol or drugs and subsequently injures someone during this action will be charged with DUI with Injury. The legal consequences VC 23153 are misdemeanor or felony charges based on the extent of injuries, the driver’s records with prior DUIs if applicable, and other circumstances of the case.

In order to prosecute for California Vehicle Code 23153, the state has the burden to prove that you committed the following acts:

  • drove while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • drove with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or greater
  • drove in a reckless manner
  • injured someone as a result of your reckless driving

Misdemeanor DUI Causing Injury

In first and second cases within a ten year period, offenders will face misdemeanor penalties that include:

  • Up to 1 year in the County Jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Up to 30 months DUI Education Program
  • Up to 3 year’s driver’s license suspension
  • Up to 5 years informal probation
  • Victim restitution

Felony DUI Causing Injury

A third time DUI with injury offender faces mandatory felony convictions. The penalties include:

  • Up to 4 years in the California State Prison
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Up to 5 year’s driver’s license suspension
  • Up to 30 months in DUI school
  • Victim restitution

DUI Legal Assistance

If you are facing DUI Causing Injury charges for California Vehicle Code Section 23153, the criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Randy Collins can help you. We will bring superior legal experience to aid you in this challenging time. Call us today at (844) 285-9559.

Facing charges for DUI with a minor child in your vehicle? Click on VC 23572 to learn more about your offense.

Expect the Best

Why We're the Right Choice
  • Over 65 years of Collective Experience
  • Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
  • Former Deputy District Attorney
  • Impressive Track Record of Results
  • Highly Respected by Peers and Clients
  • Free Initial Consultation

Contact Us

Get  a Free Consultation

We defend people in Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside County, San Diego County, and all of Southern California.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.