California Penal Code Section 243.e.1 There's No Alternative 

California Penal Code 243 E.1

Are you facing charges for Simple Domestic Battery in California? If found guilty of violating California Penal Code Section 243 E.1 you are faced with a misdemeanor offense. If not properly handled, you may have a blemish on your criminal record that follows you throughout your lifetime. At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, our domestic violence lawyers in Orange County have 40 + years of combined experience assisting those charged with domestic abuse violations. Call today to obtain a free case evaluation from one of our skilled professionals to help ensure your freedom.

PC 243 E.1 Defined

According to California Penal Code 243 E.1, anyone who willfully uses force or violence on an intimate partner can be found guilty of committing Simple Domestic Battery. This term is often used interchangeable with spousal battery, spousal abuse, domestic violence and other related terms, but this CA Penal Code applies only to simple domestic battery.

An intimate partner can be:

  • Your present or ex husband or wife
  • Some you’re cohabiting with
  • The other parent of your child

In order to prosecute for Orange County CPC 243 E.1 Simple Domestic Battery, the state has the burden to prove you are guilty of:

    • Intentionally using force or violence
    • The force or violence was used on an intimate partner

Simple Domestic Battery is one of the minor domestic battery offenses, and it doesn’t mean that the victim had to get hurt either.

Penalties for CPC 243 E.1 Violations

Simple Domestic Battery is a misdemeanor punishable by:

      • Up to 1 Year in the Orange County Jail
      • A maximum $1,000 fine
      • An informal probation for three years

In some instances the court will order guilty parties to pay a victim reimbursement fee, or complete a batterer’s program for counseling.

The law surrounding battery charges is a little complex, since there are other penal codes that stem from battery, like aggravated battery, sexual assault, or assault with a deadly weapon.

If you are facing Simple Domestic Battery charges for Penal Code 243 E.1, you have several options available that may help to increase your chances of winning your case. A skilled California defense attorney can evaluate your case and use the evidence to your advantage. You may even have the ability to have your case dismissed. Call us today at (844) 285-9559 or fill out our contact form to receive a free consultation from an attorney with a history of success.

Expect the Best

Why We're the Right Choice
  • Over 65 years of Collective Experience
  • Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
  • Former Deputy District Attorney
  • Impressive Track Record of Results
  • Highly Respected by Peers and Clients
  • Free Initial Consultation

Contact Us

Get  a Free Consultation

We defend people in Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside County, San Diego County, and all of Southern California.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.