Newport Beach Hydrocodone DUI Attorneys
Can You Drive on Hydrocodone in California?
It is illegal to drive under the influence of Hydrocodone, otherwise known as Vicodin. The punishment for DUI of Vicodin (Hydrocodone) and other painkillers in California can include probation, fines, DUI school, a driver's license suspension, and possible jail time.
Those found guilty of Hydrocodone DUI can face:
- A maximum of six months in jail
- Monetary fines of a minimum of $390
- Probation of 3-5 years
- Driver’s license suspension for up to six months
- California DUI school for a minimum of three months
Other Potential Penalties:
Second and third time hydrocodone dui offenders are subjected to sentencing enhancement.
In addition to Hydrocodone DUID, offenders could possibly be charged with:
- Drug possession for personal use
- Possession of paranerphelia
- Transporting and selling of hydrocodone
More About Hydrocodone DUI
Hydrocodone is a prescription medicine that requires that drivers stay away from handling vehicles or heavy machinery. As it relates to the law, a drunk driving attorney can prove that a specified amount of this substance should not cause impairment while driving.
Hydrocodone is classified as an analgesic that makes users sluggish. The normal reflex or reaction is therefore compromised when driving if someone is under the influence of hydrocodone. More side effects include nausea, sleepiness, and more that a drug recognition expert or DRE can identify with ease.
The following is a fictional story of a Hydrocodone DUI arrest to be used as an example:
Rob has been at a party for several hours where some friends have given him Hydrocodone. Two hours after taking it, his mom calls and tells him that there is an emergency for which she needs Rob to come right away. Rob leaves the party gets in his car and begins to make the 10 mile drive home. On his way, a police officer pulls Rob over for erratic driving. Upon inspection, the officer notices signs of intoxication and asks Rob to step out of the vehicle and perform a field sobriety test and use a breathalyzer. Rob fails the test, but passes the breathalyzer. The officer performs a blood test and Rob is arrested for DUI.
For other forms of drugs or substances that are penalized under California Vehicle Code 23152, visit the United States Controlled Substances Act.
If you are facing Vicodin or Hydrocodone DUI charges in California, the DUI defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Randy Collins can help you. They will provide you with a Hydrocone DUI case evaluation to help you determine what options you have available and make informed decisions. Call the Law Offices of Randy Collins today or fill out our form.
Where you on Ambien when you were arrested? Click on Ambien DUI for information pertaining to your situation.