When you’re facing a serious offense such as this, having an experienced Orange County hit and run lawyer in your corner is a tremendous asset. California drivers have several duties when they are involved in an accident that damages another person’s property or that injures or kills another person. Failure to fulfill those duties can result in a conviction, which can result in time spent in jail, loss of employment, and countless other negative repercussions that can affect you and your loved ones for years to come. Those facing Hit and Run charges are encouraged to contact a MacGregor & Collins, LLP attorney and obtain a free case evaluation. Call (888) 250-2865 or fill out our contact form for more information.
California Hit and Run Laws
According to California Vehicle Code 20001, California drivers have a duty to stop at the scene of an accident.
If any property is damaged you must:
- Pull your car over to the closest location that does not jeopardize the safety of other motorists.
- Locate the owner or person in charge of the property and give them your name, address, and the car owner’s name and current address
- If the property owner requests it, you must present him or her your Drivers License and the vehicle registration. Those documents should include your current address and the auto owner’s if the car you were driving belongs to someone else.
If someone has been hurt or killed, you must provide the driver or occupants in the other vehicle, or any traffic or police officer on the scene:
- Your name and current address
- The names and addresses of any people in your vehicle who were also injured in the accident
- The vehicle’s registration number
- The name and current address of the vehicle’s owner
- assistance to whomever has been hurt should they request it
In order to prosecute for Hit and Run, prosecutors will need to establish the following:
- you were involved in a vehicle accident while driving
- the accident caused the death or permanent injury to someone else
- you knew that you had been involved in an accident that hurt another person, or should have inferred from the nature of the accident that it was probable someone else had been injured.
- you willfully failed to stop at the scene, provide reasonable assistance to any injured person, as well as give identifying information to other involved parties or peace officers at the scene.
Failure to stop at the scene of the accident has the potential punishment of:
- Imprisonment in county jail or state prison for up to one year.
- A fine of anywhere from $1,000 to $10,000.
If the accident results in the death or permanent, serious injury of another person, then failure to stop at the scene can result in punishment of:
- Imprisonment in state prison for two to four years or county jail for 90 days to one year, OR
- fine of $1,000 to $10,000
If you fled the scene of the crime after committing a hit and run or manslaughter (voluntarily, involuntarily, or vehicular), you may face:
- An additional five years in state prison
Hit and Run Defense Attorneys in orange County
If you are seeking skilled legal defense, take advantage of a free professional legal evaluation from one of our hit and run defense attorneys in Orange County. They have over 40 years of combined experience and will help you make sense of the charges brought against you. Call (888) 250-2865 or fill out our contact form to get help now.