Health and Safety Code 11361a

Are you facing charges for Sale or Transportation of Marijuana Involving a Minor under 14? If convicted of violating California Health and Safety Code 11361 (a) you will be convicted of a felony offense. Having a felony on your record can negatively impact several areas of your life including employment and housing opportunities. There are several ways that a person can uncover your criminal record, making it very difficult to succeed and earn an honest wage.

 

At MacGregor & Collins, LLP, our Orange County Marijuana attorneys understand that people make mistakes. Unfortunately, making mistakes during the early stages of criminal proceedings can negatively affect a person’s case outcome. By taking advantage of a free professional case evaluation, you will be able to receive information that is specific to your case and may help you avoid common pitfalls.

 

HS 11360 Defined

 

When an adult sells or arranges for a minor to transport marijuana, the sentencing is enhanced from California Health and Safety Code 11360, to HSC 11361 (A). The code also outlines persuading a minor to use marijuana, and that the minor was under the age of 14 years old.

 

It also entails:

 

Hiring, giving away, and handling the marijuana for sale to a minor.

 

In order to prosecute for California Health and Safety Code 11361 (a), the state has the burden to prove you were guilty of either:

  • The defendant either sold marijuana to a minor, or that the defendant arranged for the
    minor to transport this illegal substance
  • The minor was under the age of 14 years old
  • The defendant was over the age of 18 years old

 

Penalties for HS 11361a Violations

 

Sale or Transportation of Marijuana to a minor under 14 is a felony, that is punishable by either:

 

  • 3/5/ 7 Years in the California State Prison

 

The California penalties are dependent on other circumstances surrounding the case, if there were additional aggravating factors, and the California county in which the defendant resides.

 

In order to avoid a conviction for for California Health and Safety Code Section 11361 (a), it may be necessary to seek counsel from an experienced Marijuana defense lawyer. An attorney can give you options specific to your case that may make a significant impact on your freedom. Call (949) 250-6097 today to take advantage of a free consultation.

Free Consultation

Criminal Defense Guides

Image