1St Offense DUI Lawyer in Orange County
Defending Clients Charged With Driving Under The Influence in California
A DUI arrest can be a terrifying experience for anyone. If you are accused of violating CA Vehicle Code Section 23152, you could be ordered to serve a jail sentence, have your license suspended, and suffer several other penalties. Those convicted can have trouble obtaining employment, and the mark on their criminal record can result in several missed opportunities throughout their life, but there is hope.
At the Law Offices of Randy Collins, we have over 45 years of combined experience assisting those facing charges in California. Our Orange County 1st time DUI attorneys can help you understand the California 23152 violation penalties you are faced with and provide you with information to help guide you through the process, regardless of whether or not you retain our services. Contact us today to take advantage of a free consultation.
Are you facing your first DUI charge in California? Call the Law Offices of Randy Collins today at (844) 285-9559 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with our first-offense DUI lawyer in Orange County!
Important Information About First DUI Offenses
A first-time offense is a violation of California’s DWI penal code. CVC 23152 is defined as driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A 2nd DUI offense can result in more serious penalties as prosecutors will likely allege that you have not learned from your first offense.
For the state of California to prosecute offenders, the following must be established:
- The defendant was operating a car while impaired
- The defendant’s BAC reading was 0.08%, or greater.
What are the Penalties for a First DUI Offense in California?
The penalties or punishments for first offenses depend on several factors, including a person’s history of criminal activity, motor vehicle violations, and the circumstances pertaining to their alleged offense. Driving under the influence is filed as a misdemeanor for first time offenders, and those found guilty can face the following:
- 96 hours to 6 months in the county jail
- Fines from $390-$1000
- Informal probation for up to five years
- Ignition interlock up to 3 years
- Attendance for three to nine months at an alcohol education program
The CA Department of motor vehicles has the right to cancel or suspend the driver’s license of someone who violates driving under the influence. This is not determined by the court but by the DMV, which will determine the time frame of suspension at the hearing. Under California law, first-time DUI offenders are subject to a suspension of 6-10 months.
There is a possibility to obtain a restricted driver’s license once all other consequences are satisfied if the person is on probation and the fines are paid, the reinstatement fees are paid, the driver is attending the program, and proof of insurance.
Contact Our First Offense DUI Lawyer Today
If you face penalties for your 1st drunk driving charge, our Orange County 1st time DUI attorneys can help you. DUI offenses require skilled legal representation and an in-depth knowledge of related case law.
Contact the Law Offices of Randy Collins today to schedule a FREE consultation with our Orange County 1st time DUI attorney!
Expect the BestWhy We're the Right Choice
Over 45 years of Collective Experience
Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
Former Deputy District Attorney
Impressive Track Record of Results
Highly Respected by Peers and Clients
Free Initial Consultation
Our hard work and dedication have created a reputation that precedes us, and you will need every advantage available when your freedom is on the line.
A Winning RecordAlways Pursuing the Best Possible Result
DUI - 0.12% BAC Not Guilty
2nd DUI with Collision No Jail Time
Felony DUI Case Dismissed
DUI with a Collision No Jail Time
Felony DUI Prison Sentence Significantly Reduced